Vegan MoFo #4: PPK Iron Chef Challenge (Apples & Ginger)

5 10 2008

Katie (from Don’t Eat Off The Sidewalk – you know, the creative genius behind pumpkin cinammon rolls and tempeh wingz) came up with a brilliant idea to do a vegan Iron Chef challenge for VeganMoFo. I didn’t think I’d have the time to get this done, but I’m procastinating with schoolwork and laundry and decided to get my ass in gear. The two ingredients for the first challenge are apples and ginger. I’m thankful they weren’t extravagant ingredients and also, they cost me less than $1. I think my Fuji apple was 75 cents and the knob of ginger was 7 cents.

This morning I got set in the kitchen to make my creation. I played around with some ideas, but decided to do breakfast. I pulled out the quinoa, dried cranberries, walnuts, apple juice, chamomile tea and agave nectar. My apple was peeled and cored and the ginger grated. I was ready!

First, I cooked 1/2 cup of quinoa in 1/2 c of water and 1/2 cup of apple juice (just for extra apple-y goodness). While that was cooking, I diced the apple into small chunks so I could get the most out of it. I grated the ginger (about 1.5 tsp – you could use more or less to taste, I could have done with more ginger but I was afraid of overpowering it) and cooked it with a splash of lemon juice. I got the idea that instead of drinking my morning chamomile tea to use it to cook down the apples with. I threw in about 1/2 c. chamomile tea with 1 tsp of brown sugar. Let that cook down for about 5-8 minutes, until apples are desired consistency (I prefer a combination of crunchy and soft). Your quinoa is probably done by now, provided 15 minutes have passed. If you’re anything like me, you allowed the bottom to slightly burn but the rest is pretty perfect. At this point, you mix in your quinoa with your apple mixture. Don’t worry if there’s still liquid left in there – the quinoa will soak it up and it will just add to the deliciousness. Throw in some dried cranberries and do a little breakfast stirfry for a few minutes. At the very end, toss in your walnuts and drizzle with agave nectar. Serve and enjoy!

(Sadly, it isn’t the most photogenic dish, but I’ve seen worse. The upside is that it’s delicious!)


Actions

Information

7 responses

5 10 2008
Ashley

This looks so good! Why haven’t I made my favourite grain into breakfast yet? Definitely trying this!

5 10 2008
Veg-in-Training

What an awesome idea!

5 10 2008
leaveittocleaver

This sounds so good… and made of all the ingredients I have in my house! I know what I’m making for breakfast tomorrow. Thank you!

5 10 2008
veganjay

This looks really good! Very interesting too!

5 10 2008
Georgia

This looks really good – i have not really used quinoa for breakky (its pretty expensive here). But the thought of it makes me want to break out and make it

I LOOOOVE the idea of the tea for cooking the apples… ingenious!

5 10 2008
Tami

I need to eat more quinoa. Great idea for your recipe!

6 10 2008
bex

That is a great idea! I looks delish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

